News Published: Nov 19, 2019 - 9:16:01 PM

Norwalk Common Council Leadership & Committee Assignments Announced

By City of Norwalk Mayor's Office

Font size: Small Big
Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Share this article:
facebook Yahoo! MyWeb Digg reddit Furl Blinklist Spurl
Buy the "As seen on" mug
Norwalk, CT - Tonight, the new leadership roles and committee assignments for Norwalk Common Council were announced. At-large Democrat Barbara Smyth will serve as Council President. Smyth is the second female Council President in Norwalk history, and the first in nearly 50 years, following Patsy Brescia, who served as Council President in 1971-1972. At-large Democrat Greg Burnett will serve as Majority Leader, and District D Republican Tom Keegan will serve as Minority Leader.

Following Mayor Harry Rilling’s reorganization of City government over the last 18 months, which included the creation of a new Community Services Department, two of the Council Committees were renamed this term to better reflect these duties and responsibilities. These changes include renaming the Health, Welfare, & Public Safety Committee to the Health & Public Safety Committee, and renaming the Personnel Committee to the Community Services & Personnel Committee.

The Finance & Claims Committee will be chaired by Burnett; the Health & Public Safety Committee will be chaired by at-large Democrat Nick Sacchinelli; the Land Use & Building Management Committee will be chaired by District E Democrat Tom Livingston; the Ordinance Committee will be chaired by at-large Democrat Colin Hosten; the Community Services & Personnel Committee will be chaired by Smyth; the Planning Committee will be chaired by District C Democrat John Kydes; the Public Works Committee will be chaired by District D Democrat George Tsiranides; and the Recreation, Parks, & Cultural Affairs Committee will be chaired by District B Democrat Darlene Young.

The Common Council was sworn in tonight for its two-year term, 2019-2021. Council leadership is for one year, with new assignments announced in late 2020. The Norwalk Common Council meets the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:30 p.m. at Norwalk City Hall.

© Copyright by Some articles and pictures posted on our website, as indicated by their bylines, were submitted as press releases and do not necessarily reflect the position and opinion of, Canaiden LLC or any of its associated entities. Articles may have been edited for brevity and grammar. Photos without a credit line are "contributed photos".

Stamford High School Juniors Allie Findeisen and Panos Ketonis Achieved Perfect ACT Scores
Minks to Sinks Presents Check to Family & Children’s Agency
SBA Recognizes FY19 Most Active Surety Companies and Agencies
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Features Talk by Carol Anderson on Voter Suppression at Westport Country Playhouse on Sunday, January 19
A New Young Writers’ Competition entitled, What in the Mansion is This? to be launched at the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum

Top of Page is part of the Canaiden Online Media Network!

Stamford Plus Online | Norwalk Plus Online | | |
Best of Norwalk | Best of Stamford | Hauterfly Magazine | |

Copyright ©2005-2010 Canaiden, LLC All Rights Reserved.