"http://www.stamfordplus.com/stm/information/nws1/publish/News_1/index.shtml - News</head> : Education Published: May 25, 2012 - 10:54 AM

Connecticut Energy Efficiency Fund announces contest winners

By Connecticut Energy Efficiency Fund

Font size: Small Big
Email this article
 Printer friendly page
Share this article:
facebook del.icio.us Yahoo! MyWeb Digg reddit Furl Blinklist Spurl
Buy the "As seen on" mug
New Britain, CT - The Connecticut Energy Efficiency Fund, in partnership with The Connecticut Light & Power Company and The United Illuminating Company, announced Tuesday the winners of its eighth annual eesmarts™ student contest for students in grades K-12. The contest gave Connecticut students the opportunity to showcase their “energy smarts” about saving energy by answering grade level-specific prompts regarding energy efficient and renewable energy technologies and sustainability through various media forms, including poems, songs, news articles, essays, artwork/posters, and television commercials.

The ceremony was held in the Old Judiciary Room of the Connecticut State Capitol and attracted over 120 students, parents and energy efficiency supporters in celebration of the students’ hard work and efforts to raise awareness of energy efficiency, and clean/renewable energy technologies. Governor Dannel P. Malloy, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) Commissioner Dan Esty, and Connecticut Energy Efficiency Fund First Vice-Chairman Richard W. Steeves were on hand to congratulate the winners, and WFSB Channel 3 Meteorologist Mark Dixon served as Master of Ceremonies for the event.

“Energy efficiency is a central focus of the energy agenda being set by Governor Malloy because of the tremendous cost savings it makes possible for homeowners and businesses all across our state,” said DEEP Commissioner Dan Esty. “The eesmarts™ statewide initiative for students K-12 plays an important part in building greater awareness of the benefits of energy efficiency and in stimulating the thinking of young people, who, after all, will be the key to developing the energy solutions of the future.”

First prize winners received an iPad and second prize winners received a Kindle. Third place winners received a season pass for their immediate family to a science museum partner of the Energy Efficiency Fund, which includes the choice of The Connecticut Science Center (Hartford), The Discovery Museum (Bridgeport), and Stepping Stones Museum for Children (Norwalk). Fourth Place and Honorable Mention winners received Amazon gift cards.

Representing over 20 towns and cities across Connecticut, the winners included:


First: William Cabrera, St. Peter/St. Francis School, Torrington

Second: Nicole Russell, St. Peter/St. Francis School, Torrington

Third: Angela Vega, Hockanum School, East Hartford

Honorable Mention: Matthew McLeod, Mary L. Tracy School, Orange

First Grade

First: Yash Bhandari, Newfield Elementary, Stamford

Second: Amelia Ferro, Discovery Magnet School, Bridgeport

Third: Xavier Sierra, Discovery Magnet School, Bridgeport

Fourth: Elizabeth Axtell, Mary R. Tisko School, Branford

Honorable Mention: John Kozdroy, Clintonville Elementary School, North Haven

Second Grade

First: Sarah Mensah, Hockanum School, East Hartford

Second: Faiz Ahmed, Home School, Hamden

Third: Yasmin Salas, Hockanum School, East Hartford

Fourth: Karina McMahon, Burr Elementary School, Fairfield

Honorable Mention: Sydney Carlo, Lordship School, Stratford

Third Grade

First: Mia Katz, Mary T. Murphy School, Branford

Second: Keelin Virgulto, Ryerson Elementary School, Madison

Third: Karl Miller, Sandy Hook School, Newtown

Fourth: Isabel Melchinger, John C. Daniels Elementary School, New Haven

Honorable Mention: Olivia Canevari, Hebron Avenue Elementary, Hebron

Fourth Grade

First: Kameren Simmons, Bear Path Elementary School, Hamden

Second: Victoria Aromolaran, Worthington Hooker School, New Haven

Third: Sam Taber, Mary T. Murphy School, Branford

Fourth: Logan Bermas, St. Peter/St. Francis School, Torrington

Honorable Mention: Robert Celentano, Spring Glen Elementary School, Hamden

Fifth Grade

First: Zachary Zordan, St. Peter/St. Francis School, Torrington

Second: Jessica Amarante, Walsh Intermediate School, Branford

Third: Jack Burns, Litchfield Intermediate School, Litchfield

Honorable Mention: Sophia Berty, Walsh Intermediate School, Branford

Sixth Grade

First: Saleha Ahmed, Helen Street School, Hamden

Second: Michael McMahon, Tomlinson Middle School, Fairfield

Third: Vincent Olsen, Lebanon Middle School, Lebanon

Honorable Mention: Cassidy Ainsley, Lebanon Middle School, Lebanon

Seventh Grade

First: Emily Kupcho, St. Peter/St. Francis School, Torrington

Second: Cheyenne Ellis, John F. Kennedy Middle School, Enfield

Third: Elissia Peralta, John F. Kennedy Middle School, Enfield

Honorable Mention: Ryan Cappadona, West Rocks Middle School, Norwalk

Eighth Grade

First: William Caragine, Nathan Hale Middle School, Norwalk

Second: Izzy Roth, Roger Ludlowe Middle School, Fairfield

Third: Austin Reid, Canton Middle School, Canton

Honorable Mention: Amy Leard, St. Peter/St. Francis School, Torrington

High School (9-12)

First: Nathan Botte, Holy Cross High School, Waterbury

Second: Bridget Sharos, South Windsor High School, South Windsor

Third: Rodney Miller, Holy Cross High School, Waterbury

Honorable Mention: Rachel Cipriano, Holy Cross High School, Waterbury

For more information about the student contest and the eesmarts™ program, please visit www.eesmarts.com.

© Copyright by ShorelinePlus.com. Some articles and pictures posted on our website, as indicated by their bylines, were submitted as press releases and do not necessarily reflect the position and opinion of ShorelinePlus.com, Canaiden LLC or any of its associated entities. Articles may have been edited for brevity and grammar.

SilverSource golf outing raises funds to protect vulnerable seriors from eviction and support the Ride To Wellness Program
Webster Bank hires Colin Gillespie as SVP of brand marketing
With Gratitude, Fairfield County’s Community Foundation Honors Donors Enthusiasm and Dedication Abound at Annual Spring Luncheon
Westport Country Playhouse Stages Comedy “A Flea in Her Ear”
United States/Mexico Border Photographer to Speak in Stamford on Thursday, June 21st

Top of Page

ShorelinePlus.com is part of the Canaiden Online Media Network!

Stamford Plus Online | Norwalk Plus Online | ShorelinePlus.com | ConnecticutPlus.com | Canaiden.com
Best of Norwalk | Best of Stamford | Hauterfly Magazine | SummerCampPlus.com | WeatherinCT.com

Copyright ©2005-2010 Canaiden, LLC All Rights Reserved.